Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Sage Women's Volleyball Team honored with AVCA Academic Team Status

Sage Women's Volleyball Team honored with AVCA Academic Team Status

You can find the 2018-19 Team Academic recipients by clicking here.

You can find 2018-19's list of recipients on our website by clicking here.

Lexington, KY—The Sage Colleges' women's volleyball program under the guidance of Head Coach Sandy Augstein-Collins has been honored as one the 1,125 volleyball programs honored by the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) with the announcement of the 2018-2019 AVCA Team Academic Award. This number breaks the previous year's total of 977 to set an all-time high.

The award, which was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative team GPA on a 5.0 scale.

The AVCA Team Academic Award is the single largest award offered by quantity of schools, players and coaches honored. Since the 2000-2001 season, the number of recipients has increased every single year but two, while more than doubling the total over the last eight academic years. Since the award's inception in 1993, the amount of award winners has increased from 62 to its current number of 1,125.

Girls high school led the way with 444 recipients, an increase of 86 over last year. NCAA Division I leaped ahead of NCAA Division III to bring in the second-most recipients adding 25 programs from a year ago for a total of 189. NCAA Division III is third with 175 (+2) while NCAA Division II is next with 141 (+13). One of the fastest growing sectors for this award is high school boys/collegiate men, notching a +10 increase for a total of 62 honorees. Collegiate beach is another fast-growing category with that area of the sport nearly doubling last year's total from 22 to 41.

Prior to 2018-2019, only 37 teams had attained the pinnacle of volleyball success in both earning the AVCA Team Academic Award and winning their respective collegiate national championship in the same academic year. This year, the AVCA is proud to recognize four programs that excelled in the classroom and on the court: Stanford University (NCAA Division I), Emory University (NCAA Division III), Park University (NAIA Women), and Coffeyville Community College (NJCAA Division II).

This also marks the third year honoring schools that have a minimum Team Academic Award streak of 15 years, and also for schools that scored the highest GPAs in their respective divisions. In order for a school to be awarded as an honor roll recipient, their division had to reach a minimum number of nominations. For NCAA Division I, II, III, and girls high school, their nomination number allows for a top-25 honor roll. For NAIA women, a top-10, with two-year college, collegiate men, collegiate beach, and high school boys garnering a top-5. 

Over 1,000 different schools have earned the award in the program's 25-year history, with exactly 9,586 awards been given out in total.


Division                                                   Number of recipients 

NCAA Division I Women                          189 

NCAA Division II Women                         141

NCAA Division III Women                        175 

NAIA Women                                             51 

Two-Year College                                      21 

NCCAA                                                                1

Collegiate Men                                          19 

High School Girls                                     444 (5 sand) 

High School Boys                                      43 

Collegiate Beach                                       41



2018-2019: 1,125

2017-2018: 977

2016-2017: 835

2015-2016: 762

2014-2015: 757 

2013-2014: 687

2012-2013: 623

2011-12: 536

2010-11: 481

2009-10: 450

2008-09: 409

2007-08: 354

2006-07: 308

2005-06: 287

2004-05: 276

2003-04: 305 

2002-03: 205 

2001-02: 178 

2000-01: 130 

1999-00: 140 

1998-99: 149 

1997-98: 132 

1996-97: 134 

1995-96: 116 

1994-95: 83 

1993-94: 98 

1992-93: 62

Sage falls to Skidmore, 70-66
November 20, 2019 Sage falls to Skidmore, 70-66
Sage falls to Cardinals
November 15, 2019 Sage falls to Cardinals
Sage falls to Union, 1-0
October 29, 2019 Sage falls to Union, 1-0
Clobridge Saluted by Empire 8
September 30, 2019 Clobridge Saluted by Empire 8
Flower runs to 3rd E8 Award
September 16, 2019 Flower runs to 3rd E8 Award